Frequently asked questions

The White Collar Crime Offender Registry was created by 2015 General Session HB 378, and is mainly codified in Utah Code §§77-42-101, et. seq. The current version can be accessed at Utah White Collar Crime Offender Registry

There is an administrative rule concerning the Registry, Utah Administrative Rule R105-3, , which can be accessed at

Any person who has been convicted (including as a result of a plea bargain) in any Utah State Court since December 31, 2005 of a Second Degree Felony for any of these offenses:
  1. Utah Code § 61-1-1 or § 61-1-2, securities fraud;
  2. Utah Code § 76-6-405, theft by deception;
  3. Utah Code § 76-6-513, unlawful dealing of property by fiduciary;
  4. Utah Code § 76-6-521, insurance fraud;
  5. Utah Code § 76-6-1203, mortgage fraud;
  6. Utah Code § 76-10-1801, communications fraud;
  7. Utah Code § 76-10-1903, money laundering; or
  8. Utah Code § 76-10-1603, pattern of unlawful activity, if at least one of the unlawful activities used to establish the pattern of unlawful activity is an offense listed

Under Utah Code § 77-42-106(3), an offender is not required to register if the offender:
  1. Has complied with all court orders made at the time of sentencing; and
  2. Has paid in full all court-ordered amounts of restitution to victims; and
  3. Has not been convicted of any other offense for which registration would be required.

A first offender remains listed on the Registry for 10 years for a first offense, an offender convicted of a second offense remains listed for an additional period of 10 years, and an offender convicted for a third time remains listed for a lifetime.

There are two ways that an offender can be removed from the Registry before the time limits set forth above. Both require that the offender has paid all court ordered restitution (the amount that the court ordered the offender to pay, which may be less than “full restitution” in some cases). If all offenses that qualify the offender for the Registry have been expunged or lowered to a third degree felony or misdemeanor, the offender can be removed by petitioning the Attorney General’s Office. If not, there is a more complex process by which the offender can petition a court to be removed. The details for both processes can be found at Utah Code § 77-42-108 and Utah Administrative Rule R105-3-9 and 10.

If the question concerns whether an offender should be included on the Registry or the accuracy of information about an offender on the Registry, please contact a Review Officer. If an offender does not know who their Review Officer is, or for any inquiry that is not about an offender's own status on the Registry – for example, to report the name of a person who you believe should be included on the Registry – please use the “Contact Us” or “Report an Offender” sections on the White Collar Crime Offender Registry at, or contact the Registry Coordinator. Please remember that the Registry includes only those offenders convicted in Utah State Courts.

Usually an offender will be contacted by a Review Officer from the Attorney General’s Office within 60 days of conviction (including entry of a plea bargain). If an offender has not been contacted within that time, please notify the Registry Coordinator. The offender will need to fill out a form, and will also need to make arrangements to have a picture taken by the Attorney General’s Office, which can be done here.

Yes, an offender must notify a Review Officer within 30 days of changing an address or phone number. If an offender does not know who their Review Officer is, contact the Registry Coordinator.

Having a picture taken when requested is part of the registration process. An offender will be in violation of Utah Code §77-42-106(2) and Utah Administrative Code Rule R105-3-5(4). Furthermore, the Attorney General’s Office may use an arrest mug shot, the most recent driver's license photograph, or any publicly available photograph of an offender, until he/she complies.

An offender may file a Request for Agency Action under the Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Utah Code §63G-4-201. The Request for Agency Action must be made in writing, within 30 days of the date of the decision being challenged, and must be sent to the Presiding Officer here: Contact Us or at or by mail at:

White Collar Crime Offender Registry Presiding Officer

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 140874

SLC, Utah 84114-0874

Anyone can contact the Registry Coordinator here: Contact Us or at or by mail at

White Collar Crime Offender Registry Coordinator

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 140874

SLC, Utah 84114-0874

All requests for records associated with the Registry under the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA) should be directed to the Attorney General’s GRAMA coordinator here Contact Us or at or mailed to:

GRAMA Coordinator

Office of the Attorney General

PO Box 140860

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-0860